Grayson’s Quilt

fullsizerender-1

A quilt for my son.

I always knew when I had a child, I would most definitely make a baby quilt. So when I found out I was expecting, I pulled my sewing machine out of storage, dusted it off, and then waited until the last moment to start sewing! Even though it took a while to start, this is the project that got me back to my sewing machine and I am so happy it did. I forgot how much I love creating with fabric

Grayson’s quilt was truly a labor of love, and I handed it off to be quilted mere hours before I went into labor with him! He was a week late, so I think he knew once the quilt top was finished, it was go time.

My husband and I decided on a general theme of “adventure” for the baby’s room. For the quilt, I gathered a bunch of different colored scraps from fabric stash – anything that wasn’t pink, and used the pattern “Leah’s Star” to create most of the blocks. I really love the stars and think it gives the quilt a compass/adventure feel. The pattern instructions are very easy to follow and can be found in the free pattern section of Quilt in a Day website here. The corner squares are a pattern called Bachelor’s Puzzle. Stay tuned; I’ll be adding a tutorial on putting those together in the future. I incorporated all the fabrics I used in the striped border and I think it adds a nice pop.

fullsizerender

Finished size of this baby quilt is 36 inches wide by 45 inches long. It’s a great size to practice tummy time and encourage him to crawl. I hope he will use this quilt for many years to come!

Leave a Reply

