Heart Quilt

FullSizeRenderBaby Quilt for My Godchild

I have a wonderful quilt to share with you today. I made it for my beautiful godchild Sylvie. She was baptized last night and I was able to gift it to her.

For this quilt, I went with all shades of pink and a big purple heart in the middle so she will always remember she is loved. ♥ Of course, with 6 older brothers and sisters (yes, SIX!!), I’m sure she’ll never forget that!  Making a quilt for a new baby is so special and this one was super easy to put together.

IMG_1703

This quilt is made up of half square triangles arranged in a chevron pattern. The finished squares are 5 1/2 inches. I love, love, love working with half square triangles! Half square triangles aka HST are so much fun because there are so many ways to put them together. Whether it’s a repeating pattern or a completely random arrangement, the possibilities are endless. And it is a cinch to make; you could easily finish in a weekend. I will definitely be making another HST quilt soon.

I am also excited to say this is the first quilt I quilted using a long arm. I took a class at my local quilt shop and used their long arm to quilt it. I think I’m addicted now! I quilted the entire quilt with swirls and loops and I am really happy with how it turned out. It gives the quilt a nice feminine feel.

IMG_1700

Thank you for stopping by! I’m still working on the March 2017 Quilt Along blocks, but I hope to have those finished and up in the next few weeks.

Leave a Reply

